Photographic Retrospective: Formula 1 Malaysian Grand Prix 2010


Kuala Lumpur’s Sepang circuit was the stage for this Sunday’s 2010 Malaysian Grand Prix and the typically rain marred race did not disappoint. Heavy rains were the story during qualifying, with some teams gambling on intermediate tires for faster times and other teams playing it safe with the full wet rubber. As a result, this was easily the most mixed up starting grid this years. Big names like Button, Hamilton, Massa, and Alonso didn’t even make it to Q1, meaning they weren’t even in the top 10 in qualifying. Those four heavyweights started behind second-tier cars including both Toro Rossos, both Renaults, both Sauber, both Williams’ and both Force Indias. Apparently, those “second-tier” teams are only second best in the dry and they shine in the wet. Who knew?

While Ferrari and McLaren struggled in the rain, Red Bull and Mercedes dominated with Webber and Vettel qualifying 1st and 3rd, respectively, and Nico Rosberg splitting them in 2nd. Rosberg continues to out-duel teammate Michael Schumacher despite the media’s focus on the 41-year-old. Force India’s Adrian Sutil impressed all with a 4th spot on the grid as did Kamui Kobayashi with a 9th place start.

If Malaysia was engrossing at the start due to rain, the surprisingly dry race made for even more captivating action. See below for the full field results and an impressive gallery of photos.

P. Driver Team Time
1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1:33:48.412
2 Mark Webber Red Bull + 4.849
3 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP + 13.504
4 Robert Kubica Renault + 18.589
5 Adrian Sutil Force India + 21.059
6 Lewis Hamilton McLaren + 23.471
7 Felipe Massa Ferrari + 27.068
8 Jenson Button McLaren + 37.918
9 Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso + 1:10.602
10 Nico Hülkenberg Williams + 1:13.399
11 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso + 1:18.938
12 Rubens Barrichello Williams at 1 lap
13 Fernando Alonso Ferrari at 2 laps
14 Lucas Di Grassi Virgin at 3 laps
15 Karun Chandhok Hispania at 3 laps
16 Bruno Senna Hispania at 4 laps
17 Jarno Trulli Lotus at 5 laps
18 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus at 10 laps (DNF)
19 Vitaly Petrov Renault at 24 laps (DNF)
20 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India at 44 laps (DNF)
21 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP at 47 laps (DNF)
22 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber at 48 laps (DNF)
23 Timo Glock Virgin at 54 laps (DNF)
24 Pedro de la Rosa Sauber at 56 laps (DNS)

See you in two weeks at the China Grand Prix.

[Photo credit: Iceman Forever/Flikr]