Pikes Peak 2009: The Results


2009 Pikes Peak Hillclimb

Today was the 87th Annual Pikes Peak International Hill Climb. As always, there were be-spoilered 1000+ horsepower machines vying for class titles and trying to crack the ever-elusive 10 minute mark. Some of the big names racing today were Rhys Millen in his 550 hp Hyundai Genesis Coupe, Marcus Gronholm and Andreas Eriksson in 800 hp Ford Fiestas, Nobuhiro “Monster”  Tajima in his wild Suzuki Sport, and Mark Rennison in a 1150 hp Ford RS200. Could any one of them break the 10 minute barrier? The results are below.

Division: Unlimited

Driver Name Number Vehicle Glen Cove Sixteen Mile Finish Line
Nobuhiro Tajima 1 2009 Suzuki SX4 04:34.100 07:08.458 10:15.368
Marcus Gronholm/ Timo Alanne 3 2009 Ford Fiesta 04:50.397 07:34.078 11:28.963
Mark Rennison 200 1984 Ford RS 200 05:26.302 08:25.241 12:11.561

Division: Time Attack 2wd

Driver Name Number Vehicle Glen Cove Sixteen Mile Finish Line
Rhys Millen 6 2010 Hyundai Genesis Coupe 05:22.835 08:16.670 * 12:09.397
Kelly Hine 25 2006 Nissan 350Z 06:03.152 09:15.291 13:32.445
Melissa Keeney / Vicki Keeney 169 1993 Honda CRX 06:38.025 10:11.549 14:49.695
Ken Stouffer 22 1997 Nissan 240SX 06:55.916 10:31.302 15:31.710

* Faster than Division Record

As you can see, despite the picture-perfect conditions at Pikes Peak 2009, no one made it in sub-10, although Tajima made it the closest. For the rest of the results, head over the the official Pikes Peak website.